Commands & Colors Napoleonics INITIATION - KIT - 10 be used as a memento by an experimented player teaching beginner(s).

These are the very basis of the system to explain before a game with a
beginner (or teaching two beginners). This allow to quickly start the
game and of course, the different actions will need more detailled ex-
planations during the game, case by case. With basic cards reference
for Terrain & Units, plus a Scenario “special for beginner”...

The battlefield game board
has three sections by two dotted lines : where the dotted line cuts
through a hex, the hex is considered to be part of both sections.

Units and Leaders

Each unit is composed of several blocks. A leader is represented by
one block.Two units may never occupy the same hex.Two leaders
may not occupy the same hex. A leader in the same hex as a friendly
unit is considered “attached” to the unit and must move along with
the unit unless the leader is ordered to detach. The three main types
of units are : infantry, cavalry and artillery.

The object of the game
is to be the first to capture a set number of Victory Banners
gained for each enemy leader or enemy unit entirely eliminated.

Sequence of Play

1. COMMAND phase: Play a Command card.

2. ORDER phase: Announce all units and leaders you intend

to order, within the limits of the Command card just played.

3. MOVEMENT phase: Move all ordered units and leaders, one
at a time (it only costs one command to order a unit and its
attached leader to move and/or battle together).

A unit or leader may only be ordered to move once per turn.

A unit or leader that is ordered does not have to move.

4. COMBAT phase: Battle one ordered unit at a time and

each unit’s combat must be fought to completion including

any additional combat actions before another combat.A unit
that is ordered does not have to battle.You may switch between
ranged combat and melee combat from one unit to the next.

5. DRAW phase: Draw a new Command card.

Ranged Combat

Only infantry and artillery units may engage in ranged combat.
The target unit must be within both range and line of sight.

A unit adjacent to an enemy unit may not fire on another, more
distant, enemy unit.The line of sight is blocked only if a hex
between the battling unit and the target contains an obstruction.

Number of battle dice rolled in ranged combat when the infantry

unit does not move is equal to the number of blocks in the

infantry unit. When an infantry unit moves, the base number

of battle dice rolled is equal to 1/2 the number of blocks in

the unit, rounding up or down (depends on nationality). An ordered
horse artillery unit, which does not move, may target an enemy unit 4
or fewer hexes. In ranged combat, the attacker scores 1 hit for
eachtroop symbol rolled that matches the target unit.

Melee Combat

A unit attacking an adjacent enemy unit is said to be engaging
that enemy unit in melee. In melee combat, the base number of
battle dice rolled is equal to the number of blocks in the unit,
even if the infantry unit has moved prior to the melee combat.

A horse artillery unit normally rolls 3 dice in melee.
In melee combat, the attacker scores 1 hit for each troop symbol
rolled that matches the target unit and 1 hit for each sabers.

Retreats

A flag does not cause a hit, but may cause the unit to retreat.
For each retreat flag rolled against a unit, the unit must move
one hex back toward its own side of the battlefield.one block
must be removed from the unit for each retreat hex of move that
cannot be completed.(Both for ranged or melee combats).

Leaders

A leader alone in a hex may not be targeted in ranged combat
but an unattached leader may be attacked in melee. When a lea-
der is alone in a hex, the attacking enemy unit rolls its normal
melee battle dice. One or more saber symbols rolled will score a
hit and eliminate the leader. Leaders may move up to 3 hexes.

When a leader is attached to a unit and the unit loses at least
one or blocks, or is eliminated, there is a chance that the leader
may also be hit. Make a leader casualty check by rolling

2 battle dice. To hit the leader two saber symbols must be rolled.
(When the unit is eliminated, the leader casualty check is made
with 1 battle dice and a saber symbol must be rolled). If the
leader is not hit, the leader must retreat 1, 2, or 3 hexes.

Morale

A unit may disregard one flag when a leader is attached to the
unit and when supported by two or more friendly units on any
hexes that are adjacent to the unit.

Battle Back

In a melee combat, the defending enemy unit may Battle Back
against the attacking unit if one or more of the defending unit’s
blocks survived the melee combat attack and the defending unit
did not retreat from its hex.

Infantry Taking Ground in melee combat

A victorious attacking infantry unit may advance onto the va-
cated hex when the defending enemy unit/leader is eliminated
or retreat. A square or an Artillery unit may not Take Ground.

Cavalry Breakthrough

A victorious attacking cavalry unit may advance onto the
vacated hex, and after advancing onto the vacated hex, the
cavalry unit may then move one additional hex. After a suc-
cessful melee combat, a cavalry unit that makes a breakthrough
is eligible to battle in melee combat a second time.

Cavalry Retire and Reform

When being attacked in melee by an enemy infantry unit, a
cavalry unit may choose to Retire and Reform (2 hexes toward
its own side of the battlefield) instead of fighting in the melee.
The attacking infantry unit rolls the proper number of melee
battle dice but only cavalry symbols will score a hit against a
cavalry unit electing to Retire and Reform.

Infantry Forming Square

An infantry unit at any strength may choose to form square du-
ring the opponent’s turn before a cavalry unit is about to melee
attack the infantry unit. If the infantry unit does not choose to
form square, the cavalry melee attack is resolved normally.

Combined Arms Combat

When an ordered infantry or cavalry unit is about to attack an
enemy unit in melee, one ordered artillery units may combine
their battle dice with the attacking unit.



BASIC UNITS REFERENCE CARDS

LEADER

-Move: 1 to 3 hex. Al :
ove 0 3 hex | LIGHT
- Combat : may not battle.

INFANTRY

- A leader in the same hex as a friendly
unit is considered attached to the unit
and must move along with the unit '
unless the leader is ordered to detach.

- When a leader is attached to a unit
which loses at least one block, or is eli-
minated, the leader may also be hit with
a leader casualty check.

-A unit may disregard one flag when a
leader is attached to the unit.

- Move : 1 hex and battle, or |
2 hex and no battle.

- Melee Combat : 1 Dice per block.

- Fire Range : 2 hex.

- Fire Standing : 1 Dice per block +1°
- Fire Moving : Dices x 1/2 the
number of blocks rounding up +1

- Forest :may move on to a Forest
hex and still battle when eligible.

LIGHT
CAVALRY

LIGHT
CAVALRY

- Move : 1 to 3 hex and battle. 1
- Melee Combat : 1 Dice per block.
- Fire Range : none.

- When being attacked in melee by an
enemy infantry unit, a cavalry unit
may choose to Retire and Reform.

- Cavalry Breakthrough : a victo-
rious attacking cavalry may advance,
then move one additional hex and
battle in melee combat a second time. |

- Move : 1 to 3 hex and battle. 1
- Melee Combat : 1 Dice per block.
- Fire Range : none.

- When being attacked in melee by an
enemy infantry unit, a cavalry unit
may choose to Retire and Reform.

- Cavalry Breakthrough : a victo-
rious attacking cavalry may advance,
then move one additional hex and
battle in melee combat a second time.

HEAVY
CAVALRY

HEAVY
CAVALRY

- Move : 1 to 2 hex and battle. 1

- Melee Combat: 1 Dice per block +1
- Fire Range : none.

- When being attacked in melee by an
enemy infantry unit, a cavalry unit
may choose to Retire and Reform.

- Cavalry Breakthrough : a victo-
rious attacking cavalry may advance,
then move one additional hex and
battle in melee combat a second time.

- Move : 1 to 2 hex and battle. 1

- Melee Combat: 1 Dice per block +1

- Fire Range : none.

- When being attacked in melee by an
i enemy infantry unit, a cavalry unit
may choose to Retire and Reform.

- Cavalry Breakthrough : a victo-
rious attacking cavalry may advance,
then move one additional hex and
battle in melee combat a second time.

HORSE
ARTILLERY

-Move: 1 to 3 hex.
- Combat : may not battle.

- A leader in the same hex as a friendly
unit is considered attached to the unit
and must move along with the unit
unless the leader is ordered to detach.

- When a leader is attached to a unit
which loses at least one block, or is eli-
minated, the leader may also be hit with
a leader casualty check.

-A unit may disregard one flag when a
leader is attached to the unit.

- Move : 2 hex and no battle,or 1 |
hex and battle but may not fire at 4
hex range if moved (only 3 hex).

- Fire Range and Strenght :

321 1o

- A horse artillery unit that only has  §
one block remaining may not move
and battle, but may move or battle.

- When reduced to 1 block, range is :

2|11
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BASIC TERRAINS REFERENCE CARDS

- A Hill hex blocks
A line of sight.
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- A Town hex blocks
% line of sight.

-A unlt may not battle the turn it |
moves onto a Town hex. |

- A unit or leader that enters a
Town hex must stop and may
move no further on that turn. An
infantry unit may not form square |
on a Town.

- Combat : 'l,f ﬂ .
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FOREST

| - A Forest hex blocks

-.h line of sight.
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- A unit or leader that enters a i:(-)Es't'II
hex must stop and may move no |
further on that turn. An infantry unit |
may form square on a Forest hex. |
- A unit may not battle the turn it i
moves onto a Forest hex. Exception : I_
Light infantry and Riflemen.

- Combat : | ﬁ .'I

s B

-A Field Works hex does
“not block line of sight.

. FIELD WORKS

- A unit or leader that moves across a,
hex side with Field Works must stop |
and may move no further on that turn.
An infantry unit may not form a

square on a Field Works hex. {

- Infantry and Artillery units on a |
Field Works hex may ignore one flag.

- Combat : '/ H .
w® ' li
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FORDABLE
'\ RIVER

- A unit or leader that enters a H'|,
Fordable River hex must stop and |
may move no further on that turn. |
An infantry unit may form square |
on a Fordable River hex. 'l

I

- A unit may battle the turn it moves
onto a Fordable River hex.

|.

- Combat : ri
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. SAND QUARRY

- A unit or leader that enters a Sandh A
Quarry hex must stop and may move
no further on that turn. An infantry |
unit may form square on a quarry hex

- A sand quarry is considered im- |
passable terrain for an artillery unit. |

- Combat : r ﬂ .
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|-A Fordable River hex does
G p ) by 1 4 -A sand quarry hex does -1 2 - |
n.pt block line of sight. l,-’ “not block line of sight. g
BRIDGE I I

- Movement: A bridge will

cancel a river or fordable river’s
movement restrictions. An
infantry unit may form square |
on a bridge hex.

a river or fordable river’s battle
restrictions.

- Line of Sight : A bridge does
not block line of sight.

- Combat : A bridge will cancel |
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- RUGGED HILL
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- Movement : Not allowed. No
unit may enter a Rugged Hill |
hex.

- Combat : Prohibited. |

- Line of Sight : A Rugged Hill
hex blocks line of sight to units
behind a Rugged Hill hex.
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Historical Background

Joseph Souham's Army of Portugal forced Wellington to
abandon the Siege of Burgos. After a pursuit which
included the Battle of Venta del Pozo, he pressed the
Anglo-Portuguese back to Salamanca : one of the most
desperate cavalry fights took place at Venta Del Pozo.

Wellington, moving his principal force towards a line in
the rear, ordered the brigades of Anson and Halkett to
remain in front until they should be driven in by the
enemy. Halkett placed his light infantry brigade (1st and
2™ KGL) behind a brook, on whose bushy banks a part of
his battalions were concealed. The cavalry was in front.

He planned to ambush the French advanced guard. Anson's
cavalry would file across the bridge and presumably the
French would follow. After some French squadrons cros-
sed, Ramsay's six cannons would open fire and Bock's
KGL heavy dragoons (1st and 2™) would charge them.

The plan miscarried when Anson's brigade turned the
wrong direction after it crossed the span. The light dra-
goons stopped right in the way, blocking both Ramsay's
guns and Bock's intended charge zone : by some mistake
the heavy brigade had not received orders to charge until
the French had crossed the bridge.

The two German battalions in ambuscade now threw in
a heavy fire, and were ordered to draw back. After a few
minutes, Boyer's dragoons, which had crossed the stream
bed to one flank, swarmed into the melee. The British
cavalry retreated in considerable disorder. The French
pursuit soon ran into Halkett's two battalions, formed in
square and the KGL infantry held firm.
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Bloody Ambush at “Venta del Pozo

- 23 October 1812

The French subsequently charged the two battalions in
succession, but they managed to hold off the French
horsemen and escape intact. The British troops moved and
reached the position of the army at Torquemada. Note :
the two KGL German battalions wore the "Venta del
Pozo" battle honour until 1918 (source : Wikipedia).

The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are
in command. Can you change history?

Battle Notes

British Army
¢ Commander : Cotton
e 5 Command Cards

French Army

e Commander : Boyer
e 4 Command Cards
e Move First

Victory

5 Victory Banners

Special Rules

o Asthis is a Rearguard Skirmish action, the British player
may escape his troops through the British banner : each
unit (not Leader) leaving the board by this hex counts
then as a victory banner. This is allowed only AFTER
than, at least, one unit in each camp as been eliminated.

o Note : the River is fordable.

by Pascal Dumat & Francgois Gongalves - February 2011

Unofticial Scenario not approved by Richard Borg and GMT.



